Tuesday Morning with a heavy dose of guilt….

Trying to make everyone happy is a never-ending, unsuccessful task.  I haven’t been to see Clayton and Karla in a couple of years (as he is constantly reminding me) so I arranged to take a few days off to head to Springfield.  Originally, I was going to leave on Friday in time to make the 3 hr trip and get there in time to see his office and then go to dinner, stay Friday night and hang Saturday, stay Saturday night and come home on Sunday.  This was going to be hard for a number of reasons, first and foremost because we only have one car and that would leave Michael without transportation.  But then I was informed that due to activities beyond my control at work I had to work on Sunday.  I had mentioned to Clayton earlier that I was going to move one of my days off to Thursday and might possibly show up Thursday, stay Thursday and Friday and come home on Saturday afternoon.  Let me go back and say that I am one of a zillion people who doesn’t have a problem in the world falling asleep-my issue is staying asleep and that is when I wake up and try to solve all the problems in the world at a time of night when there isn’t a blessed thing you can do about it.  So, I’m thinking at 4:30 a, “What am I going on Thursday for?  I can see Clayton’s office and spend some time with him that night and then do WHAT on Friday?  He will be at work-I don’t want to hang in Springfield-I don’t even LIKE Springfield, if I’m going to hang anywhere it should be at home-I like home.  Besides, then Michael can go to the gym on Friday morning (and drag my happy ass along) and after I get ready I can head that way,get there in pleanty of time to see his office and stay Friday night and come home Saturday afternoon.”  So I run it by Clayton this morning and JEEZ “But then you will barely be here 24 hrs-just like always.”  I respond, ” What difference does it make if I don’t actually get to spend time with you?  Did you take off on Friday? (making sure I didn’t fuck up any plans)?”  “Well NO.”  Ok then.  So.  I call my daughter who is the epitome of blunt to make sure that I am not missing anything and after she tells me that she hasn’t a clue why he would be irritated unless I was supposed to have some one on one bonding time with his dogs, then SHE says, “I hate this job.”  I say, “You hate your new job”?  “No, I hate your job-you never see your grandchildren anymore. After I reminded her that the road does in fact go both directions, she says, “The last time you say them I brought them to you.”  “Well, Actually, the last time I say them I MET you halfway……”   GEEZ  off to the job that enables me to live…….

About myway77

I am a 56 year old Mother of 2, Step-Mother of 3, Grandmother of 6. After 23 years of being a Cosmetologist/Nail Tech/Esthetician I recently started a whole new career with an Amazing company. This is the story of where and how I started and the long road to where I am. One thing has always remained a constant in my life-my 1st Cousin and Best Friend "Liza Jane" or Leisa Carroll-my #1 partner in crime !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

