Breathe Deep and tell yourself that in 10 years you won’t give a shit……

So let me set today’s rant up for you.

Back in March/April (I’ve slept since then) I saw that Bruno Mars was touring and was going to be in Kansas City and the tickets were on sale the next day!  Exciting!  So, I call my daughter and make plans for us to go see him.  I sit on the computer waiting and SCORE!  Got great seats.  Now we just have to wait.  I put in to have Friday and Saturday off.  It’s summertime and I can spend Friday afternoon and Saturday with the grandbabies and have a great time and get to see an great concert.  Right?  Yeah, nice try.  Oh, don’t get me wrong.  The concert was amazing but the grandbaby time was not.

The end of May/first part of June, my daughter calls me to tell me that her Mother-in-law had just called to let them know that the annual Mennemeyer/Turner Family Reunion was planned for that very weekend.  But not to worry, because Stephanie was still going to the Bruno Mars concert, no matter what.  And  M-I-L had decided (fucking control freak bitch) that they would just come and get the kids and take them to the family reunion on Thursday and then Steph and Brad could just get up early Saturday am and drive 5 hours to meet them.  Ok?  O-KAY!

Seriously?  So, I say, OK, fine (what am I supposed to say?) how about if we do dinner when you come back through?  We’ll just have to see when it gets closer.

So, after lots of waiting and planning what I am going to wear and hoping that my back/leg won’t be killing me too much when the day comes.  Finally August 9, gets here!  The concert was one of the best shows I have ever seen-back and leg be damned, I didn’t sit down the entire time.  On the way back to Stephs house we stop at a bar called “Funkytown” where it was also a blast.  We get back to her house just about 1:30 am and I wash my face and crawl into bed.  I can’t tell you the last time I was up that late-I know, sad isn’t it?

In the course of things over the past two months, personnel changes at work found that there was no coverage that Saturday, and I had said that I would just come in when I got back from KC.  I was planning  on sleeping in and then getting up and driving home then getting ready to go to work.  Good plan?  Yeah, I thought so.  Imagine my surprise, when a weird buzzing sound interrupted my  slumber and I sat up thinking,  “What the Fuck is THAT?”  Oh, it’s Stephanie’s alarm.  They have to get up and get on the road to the family reunion-MIL calls you know.  Your time is over, Tracey.  It doesn’t matter that YOUR weekend was planned long before.  So, I get up, throw my clothes on and head home.  Walked in the door at 9:45 am, just about the time I was planning on leaving KC

During the course of taking Steph out to dinner the night before, I had asked what they wanted for dinner, and she told me that because they would be traveling home from the family reunion early, it would probably be lunch.  Ok, what do you want?  And she replies, “Chicken Salad”  OK.  So, Sunday, After Michael and I go to the Artisan Farmers Market (where I get her a big bag of kettle corn-she loves kettlecorn), I go to the grocery store and get 5 lbs of chicken breasts and all the rest of the stuff for chicken salad (keep in min there are 5 of them).  I also got blueberries and grapes for the kids and I had picked up a loaf of multi-grain bread at the market.  Now, let me interject, that I am counting EVERY calorie that goes in my mouth and trying to keep it to 1200 a day.  I have lost 8 lbs so far and am on a roll and very happy with myself.  I am also not eating ANY flour (bread) or sugar (kettlecorn).  Just lots of lean protein and fresh veggies and fruit.

I then come home and start cooking the chicken breasts to make chicken salad.  I look down at my phone and there is a message from my daughter.  “I don’t think we’re going all the way to CoMo-the kids (and me) are fussy”  To which I reply, “Are you kidding me? I just got back from the grocery store…..And the farmers market.  Bought you kettlecorn and tons of other stuff I don’t need or want”

Didn’t hear back from her and after about 20 minutes I had calmed down (chopping celery and apples vigorously helps-still making the chicken salad-what the fuck else am I going to do with all this cooked chicken?)  I texted, “Sure I can’t interest you in lunch?  I have 5 lbs of chicken cooked for chicken salad, fresh multigrain bread from the market, blueberries, sweet princess grapes, watermelon, and chicken on a bone (Geebs, loves fried chicken and that is what she calls it) .

Still no answer.  I hear my phone ring “Locked out of heaven” -Steph’s ringtone and I ignore it. 

At quarter to 2 I get a text message from her that says, “Are you ready?” 

After several texts back and forth she says that I “guilted” her into coming.  Guilt is a fine art.  They get here and bail out of the van.  As they come inside I ask what they want to eat and Dude tells me, “I’m not hungry-we just had ice cream at Central Dairy and it was goooood.”  I need a Xanax.  So, guilt or no guilt, everyone was crabby and nobody ate anything.  They stayed about 45 minutes. 

I get up this morning and I see all the pictures from the “family reunion weekend” on facebook.  Steph, her family and MIL and FIN at the reunion.  Then on the way home they all stopped at Meramac Springs and then all of them together at Central Dairy.  Great.  I’m done.  Love my daughter and love my grandbabies but I am done getting my feelings hurt.  Fuck it.

 

It’s hard, because I go places and I see things and I think-Oh, Steph would like that (or one of the grandbabies) but it wouldn’t be appreciated so why? 

“Easy, Come, Easy Go, That’s just how you live, oh, take, take take-but you never give”

About myway77

I am a 56 year old Mother of 2, Step-Mother of 3, Grandmother of 6. After 23 years of being a Cosmetologist/Nail Tech/Esthetician I recently started a whole new career with an Amazing company. This is the story of where and how I started and the long road to where I am. One thing has always remained a constant in my life-my 1st Cousin and Best Friend "Liza Jane" or Leisa Carroll-my #1 partner in crime !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

