Bang, Bang, Gorilla……

So, I have the lyrics to Bruno Mars’ song “Gorilla” running through my head, “Oooh I got a body full of liquor and a cocaine kicker and I’m feelin like I’m 30 feet tall…….”   And it is making me feel really nostalgic for the 70’s when I actually DID have a body full of liquor (AND a cocaine kicker).  I have to say that was one of the absolute best concerts I have ever been to.  And this song in particular sounds like the prettiest love song, ever-and the lyrics are positively filthy.  What a great combination!  It makes me feel old now-but back in the day I could drink more whiskey (straight up, please) smoke more pot and snort more coke than anyone (well-except for my cousin Leisa) and I have a hole burned in my septum to prove it.  I have often wondered how I made it this far in my life-there were a couple of times when I didn’t think I was going to.  So this is the Prequel, I’m going to try my best to remember the 70’2 and 80’s and maybe even those “special moments” that I have made an effort to forget!  So close your eyes and plug an 8-track in and lets go back….

Every morning in the beginning of my sophomore year, I would hitch a ride to school with my older brother Donny and his friend, Rick Hagenhoff.  No sooner had we got to the bottom of the lane when someone would fire a joint up and the amazing smell of sweet green sticky skunk bud would waft through the air accompanied by the thumping of BTO’s “Takin Care of Business”  By the time we got to school, my eyes were little slits, glazed over and cherry red and I’m sure I reeked of weed and “Wind Song” (I can’t seem to forget you-your windsong stays on my mind”), and I had a stupid grin on my face and everything was funny.  Ahhh, Gotta love 1975!!

About myway77

I am a 56 year old Mother of 2, Step-Mother of 3, Grandmother of 6. After 23 years of being a Cosmetologist/Nail Tech/Esthetician I recently started a whole new career with an Amazing company. This is the story of where and how I started and the long road to where I am. One thing has always remained a constant in my life-my 1st Cousin and Best Friend "Liza Jane" or Leisa Carroll-my #1 partner in crime !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

