The Day I REALLY fell in love…..September 9, 1980

I had spent most of the summer miserable and sick.  So here I was at the end of the Texas heat wave of 1980.   I had moved to Texas the November before and it didn’t take me long to figure out the guy I thought was really cool and a lot of fun was in fact a total asshole, who just wanted to stay drunk and stoned all the time.  Actually when I moved down to Texas that was what I was pretty much all about too, and then something changed in a big, big way. So here I was pregnant and for over 100 days it had been over 100 degrees.  I had a child’s wading pool that I would fill up and lay in looking like a beached whale with hardly any room for my poodle Keisha.  The only thing I could really eat and keep down was watermelon.  No air conditioning.  Living in a total shack at the end of a dead end street in Denton, Texas with illegal immigrants who woke me up to the sound of Slim Whitman every Saturday morning, “Vaya Con Dios, my darling…..”   I had finally quit fighting my Mom and married the total asshole in July.  “Tracey Elizabeth, you have GOT to give that baby a name…”  I kept telling her that the baby could have one of mine-I had been married before and I wasn’t in a big hurry to do it again.  Pretty sure at this point that all guys are dickheads-just come in different shapes and sizes.  And from what I had seen this guy wasn’t proving me wrong.  I told my Mom that we couldn’t afford a ring and you can’t get married without a ring, right?  So she mailed us one.  DAMN!  So I had finally given it up and married him the end of July to make my Mom happy.  Now before you think that was a really stupid reason to get married, you have to let me finish ALL my stories-I actually topped this one-but that’s another story…

ANYWAY.  Summer, miserable, hot, pregnant.  I wake up on the morning of September 9th and it was raining!!  First time in over 100 days!  The baby’s dad and the rest of his co-workers were all crammed in our tiny living room-rained off the job.  I was sitting in my chair with my poodle watching the morning news.  I asked if anybody wanted coffee and everyone said, they did.  So I got up to get it for them and WHOOSH!!!  My water broke-OH HOLY SHIT!  I’m sure I had the “deer in the headlights” look because nobody had told me that this was an option.  I had heard everyone’s horror stories (why do women do that to pregnant people?) and they kept telling me, “Oh, you’ll know when you are in labor because it is the worst pain you have ever had!!”  Well I’m calling bullshit on this one because there wasn’t ANY pain, just a huge mess!  But I DO know how to clear out a house!  Because everyone left and Jill (my sister in law) said, “Um, I think you’re supposed to go to the hospital”  I was arguing because I wasn’t in any pain and so they left to go call the Dr.-we didn’t have a phone.   I took a beach towel and put it on the floor, and stood on it and started doing dishes.  I knew they were going to make me go to the hospital and then my Mom would be coming down from Missouri and my house was a mess!  When Jill and the baby’s Dad got back to the house sure enough I had to get to the hospital quick.  I grabbed my bag and out the door we went.  I hiked my leg and throw it over the seat of a Honda motorcycle and off we went.  Oh, yeah-totally forgot to mention that we didn’t have a car-we had a motorcycle!   So picture this, a pregnant 21 year old with water streaming everywhere on the back of a motorcycle with people pointing and honking.  Got to the hospital and checked in and about 11:00 am reality hit and so did the pain-Jesus H. Christ!  At 4:00 they wheeled me into delivery and at 4:20 p.m on September 9, 1980 I looked into eyes that were focused right on mine and I was hooked!  Well, Hello, Stephanie Elizabeth-I am SO glad to meet you.

My Mom was driving from Missouri and she must have been low flying aircraft because she got there not to long after and by the next day when they sent us home, she was PISSED!  Now I have only seen my Mom Really mad so few times that I could count them on my fingers and this was one of them.  “What do you mean you don’t have a car?”  She stayed until the end of the week when we bought an old Impala from a “Se Habla Espanol-We tote the Note” car lot!  And life as I knew it would never be the same.  Not because of the Impala-because of Stephanie Elizabeth, (Twila Sue), (Hepzabah Marie).??????? 1 Day Old

 

almost a month old and the Impala             One Day old-coming home from Hospital

About myway77

I am a 56 year old Mother of 2, Step-Mother of 3, Grandmother of 6. After 23 years of being a Cosmetologist/Nail Tech/Esthetician I recently started a whole new career with an Amazing company. This is the story of where and how I started and the long road to where I am. One thing has always remained a constant in my life-my 1st Cousin and Best Friend "Liza Jane" or Leisa Carroll-my #1 partner in crime !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

