Off to a rip-roaring start!

I have every intention of writing chapters of my life from the past.  I actually lay in bed in the middle of the night and write them in my head when I can’t sleep.  Then stupid shit happens during the day, that I HAVE to put in writing and I am so busy with the present that I can’t seem to concentrate on the past.  Funny, huh?  I should be concentrating on the present and just letting the past go, except that I think that it’s everything that you have done in the past that makes you who you are today.  But that is getting pretty deep-so let me just tell the latest installment and I’ll go from there.

Ok, so about 5 years ago, Michael’s youngest son, Nikki called and needed out help.  He needed a car and didn’t have any credit and could (would) we please sign for it?  As it turned out, since Michael is disabled he couldn’t be the main signer, so could I?  As it also turned out since Nikki had NO credit the car would have to be in my name.  Now, my train of thought on this is, I co-signed for both of my kids on their car loans and I have always made it a point that I would not do something for my kids that I wouldn’t do for Michael’s.  After all Nikki was 4 when Michal and I got married.  What I wasn’t factoring into the equation was the fact that I raised my kids with morals and values and a healthy fear that I would shove my foot up their ass if they didn’t make their payments.  Nikki on the other hand was raised mostly by their Mother, a complete and total idiot, that used to call him Nikki-wikki when he was little.  As in “Oooooh, how is the momma’s Nikki-wikki and the Jesse-wessy?  Did that make you throw up?  They were 4 and 5- and it used to make the hair on the back of my neck stand up.  She thought it would be a good idea to marry the missing link to Darwin’s theory of Evolution who thought it was OK to discipline the kids with Tabasco sauce and since he was an engineer, he “engineered” a “paddle out of coat hangers and leather strips.  They moved the kids to Kentucky when they were in 2nd and 3rd and 8th grade.  So at that point they became “visitor’s” in our house at different points of the year and since they just visited Michael wanted everything to be sunshine, lollipops and rainbows when they were with us.  So, even if they should have been disciplined, they weren’t.  Not my call, they aren’t my kids.  It was, hands down, the roughest 15 years of my life and there were several times I thought it was going to be the end of our relationship, not to mention throwing me into a full out depression that actually WAS the end of our relationship.  But that is another story and now back to 5 years ago and the car.

When Nikki asked I said, “Of course”.  We had just moved to Columbia and I was preoccupied with trying to keep us afloat while owning two houses and trying to stay on top of Michael’s court case and just life in general.  My first red flag was when the car that I was told was going to be $5k suddenly turned into a Saturn Vue that actually cost 15k, but upon questioning, “Can you afford this? ”  I was assured of yes, I have a great job, blah, blah, blah and like a dumbass, I said, OK.  So everything was fine and when we talked to Nikki the first part of November he wanted to let us know that his first payment wasn’t due until the end of the month, but he had already made the payment.  Great Job, Nikki!  Didn’t give anything a 2nd thought until I got a phone call a week before Christmas (you know, the time of the year where you have to come up with money for presents for everyone and in my case personal property taxes on TWO houses) that Nikki’s payment was late.  Like a total clueless wonder, I said, “But his payment isn’t even due for another week….?”  To which the lady replied,” December’s payment is due next week, NOVEMBER”S payment is overdue.”  Me:”Oh, there must be some mistake, he made that payment early….Let me get ahold of him and see what is going on.”  Now, I am trying to get to work, so I had Michael call him and he didn’t understand what could have possibly happened, but he would check with the bank.  Then he called back and he checked with the bank but they didn’t have November’s payments posted yet (EEERRRRKKKK-that was the brakes screeching to a stop in my head.  Welcome to the age of technology.  The SECOND anything is made, payment or deposit or whatever-it is POSTED).  So I guess at this time I went off.  I hate being lied to or taken advantage of and both put together is a total recipe for disaster.  That would be the start of lie after lie.  I mailed it, just give it a few more days or I am so sorry I promise I WILL mail it next payday.  In the meanwhile I have to come up with 2 car payments along with Christmas and personal property taxes.  Finally after several months of total bullshit and Nikki finally just quit taking our calls-he must have run out of lies.  We had to rent a car, Michael drove to KY, left the rental car there and drove the Saturn back here.  By now not only were we making all of the car payments, but also paying the insurance as well, because he had only paid insurance for one month or long enough to drive the car off the lot.  I ran a couple of ads and tried to sell it, but no takers. By now I have had to pay the personal property taxes and license plates on this car as well.  Shoot me.  The April, Nikki called and wanted to know what it would take for him to get his car back.  I told him that he had to pay back all of the payments that I had already made, plus the rental car fee, plus insurance and I wanted 3 extra payments to boot just for security.  He called a few weeks later and said that he had $900.00 and could he please come and get his car, he was so sorry and he promised this time would be different.  He was in to us for over $2,000.00 but I am nothing if not a sucker, and I always want to believe the best in everyone.  Did it pay off?  Of course not.  He came to Missouri, paid us $900.  I made sure that his car was clean and had a full tank of gas and he got in it and waved and said, “Thank you” and off he went, and that was the last we heard from him until we went to Kentucky in October for his brothers’ wedding.  In the months between, Michael and I both made numerous attempts to get him to make payments, but for reasons that are known only to Nikki, he seemed to think that we should just buy him a car.  He knew we were coming to Kentucky in October for the wedding and we left him a message and told him that we would be driving the car back to Missouri and would sell it as soon as possible.  When I got in it at the church, that was out in the middle of nowhere, it was sitting on empty and the gas light was on-fucking fantastic.  I drove the Saturn and Michael drove our car back to Missouri and several months later after attempting to sell it outright, I sold it to a used car dealer for $5k.  So I sent Nikki a letter telling him that he still owed us $8k for the difference and of course he has been paying us steadily trying to get it paid off.  Bwhahahahahaha.  That was really the last time I have heard from him.  Because apparently the fact that I had the awefuckingdacity to repo HIS car made me the Anti-Christ.

For the past couple of years he would stay in contact with his dad, and would see his dad, as long as I wasn’t around.  It doesn’t matter that I didn’t do anything, I tolerated it.  When his girlfriend got pregnant, I facebook messaged her and asked what they needed and we bought things for the baby, after all it isn’t her fault that her dad is a douchenozzle.  He messaged me back and told me I was to have no further contact with his girlfriend.  When they got married he sent a “save the date” to his dad and Michael told him that if I wasn’t invited that he wouldn’t come.  When the invitation came, it was addressed to both of us.  We didn’t go, because neither Michael or I wanted the tension or awkwardness at what should be a happy event for at least her.  At this stage of the game I don’t give a flying fuck if Nikki is comfortable.

They have come to Missouri a couple of times to visit.  One time Michael kept it from me and it made him physically sick.  The next time he told me they were coming and I told him to just have them come over because I would be at work anyway.  Were my feeling hurt, of course, but we can’t have the baby around the Antichrist, now can we?  Last year we went to Kentucky and I told Michael to go visit them.  I hate it that they are using the baby, but again, my tail and horns might scare her.

Last summer they moved to Missouri, about 30 miles from us.  I can’t remember if Michael went to meet them or if they brought her over to the house, again, I was at work.  Then last September Nikki apparently called and wanted to bring the baby to visit and was I working that weekend?  And Michael told him that he was tired of playing this stupid game and apparently that is the last time Nikki has been in contact.  Nice.

So, last week I am at work and I see this girl come walking in the door and I thought, hmmmmm.  She walked around over in mass cosmetics for a while and then went to the front counter and asked if we had Lorac’s Pro Palette.  They referred her to me and I was explaining that we have been out of stock since before Christmas and could I show her a couple of palettes that are similar?  She said, “Well, it’s for a gift” and at that point I asked, “Is your name Alysha?”  She said, “Um, yes” looking totally puzzled and I said, “Hi, my name is Tracey Watson, It’s nice to see you again.”  She said, “Excuse me?”  I smiled and replied, “I’m your step-Mother-In Law, I’m Nikki’s step-Mom”  At this point she got a deer in the headlights look and I was fully expecting her to run, and to her credit, she didn’t.  I figured what the hell and said, “I really would like to see the baby, and I can’t wait to tell Michael I saw you and I would suggest you don’t mention it to Nikki.”  and I laughed.  Then I went into full out sales-person mode and started showing her different palettes and just talking makeup.  I think she was genuinely surprised that I didn’t have cloven hooves and a tail, and we just had some nice chit chat about where she worked and different things.  I told her that I had just received a new Smashbox palette that wasn’t even out, yet and did she want to see it, I would go to the back to get it for her and she said, “yes, please.”  I fully expected her to be gone when I came back out, but she wasn’t, and she loved the palette.  After I handed it to her, I said, “It was really nice to see you again, and….” at that point I stopped and said, ” I’ll tell you what.  Let’s just leave it at, it’s really nice to see you again.”  She smiled and said, “Let me see what I can do.”

I was so excited to tell Michael about it and especially the end part.  I told him that I had totally forgot to tell her that I had made the baby a tutu for Christmas and that we could just run it by Aeropostle.  In our chit chat, I discovered she works at the mall here in Columbia-it is a total wonder that we had never run into her, Michael loves Aeropostle!

I’d love to say that the story ends well, but this IS my life after all.  I went to get on facebook to message her to tell her about the tutu and discovered that since our little chat, she has blocked me.  Welcome to my world……

About myway77

I am a 56 year old Mother of 2, Step-Mother of 3, Grandmother of 6. After 23 years of being a Cosmetologist/Nail Tech/Esthetician I recently started a whole new career with an Amazing company. This is the story of where and how I started and the long road to where I am. One thing has always remained a constant in my life-my 1st Cousin and Best Friend "Liza Jane" or Leisa Carroll-my #1 partner in crime !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

