Mama Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to be Cowboys

The lyrics to a Willie Nelson song are going through my mind this morning:

“Mamas, don’t let your babies grow up to be cowboys
Don’t let ’em pick guitars and drive them old trucks
Make ’em be doctors and lawyers and such” 

And actually what I am thinking is I don’t really give a rip what they grow up to be , but for Gods sake teach them some responsibility and don’t raise them with a sense of false entitlement.
You’re thinking, “what the hell is going on with you this morning?”  Well, Let me tell you. 
I work with a bunch of spoiled rotten, immature Children and I am sick of it.  I’m tired of babysitting and having to hold everyone’s hand and having to constantly feed them a total line of bullshit about what a great employee they are when they aren’t.
 
When I was 16, I went to work at Mohr Value (the predecessor to Walmart).  I worked 20 hrs a week, because I was still in high school.  And I totally remember what it was like to be a kid.  I would go out partying on Friday night and have to be at work at 9 am.  Do I remember what it was like  to stay out until 2 or 3 and have to get up to be at work at 9?  It was brutal.  If I was having a REALLY good time and opted to stay out until 4 or 5, I wouldn’t even bother to go to bed.  I would go home and throw myself in the shower and get ready.  Oh yeah-the getting ready part.  I work at a beauty store and the # of employees who show up looking like they just rolled out of bed and didn’t even bother to run a brush through their hair is MIND BOGGLING!  And are they wearing any makeup?  Well No-why would they?  Because everyone wants some hung-over, 20-30 year old with nasty hair and no makeup on giving them beauty advice.  And that if if they even bother to show up.  They think they are giving you a present if they show up at all, did you really expect them to show up on time?  I can honestly say that I NEVER went to work without my makeup on and my hair fixed.  I am much too vain and always have been. 
 
But it is a different time and place today.  Then-if you didn’t show up for your shift, the first time you probably would have been told by the boss, not to do it again, or else and the 2nd time, you would have been let go.  There were plenty of other people who wanted your job and they didn’t have to put up with your bullshit.  Now, you have to be oh, so careful about what you say and how you say it, or someone will issue a complaint against you.  So, we are raising a complete generation of kids, who want an adult job and want to be paid an adult wage, but don’t you dare treat them like an adult and expect them to be responsible or they will cry and you will just have to spend more time and effort holding their hand and kissing their butt. 
 
I was venting to my supervisor yesterday, because I am TIRED.  TIRED of doing my job and everyone elses.  And when I tried to straighten out a problem and clarify a situation, I was told that the employee felt that they were being harassed.   I had sent the employee (new employee-has only worked one day, btw) a text asking if she knew why her schedule has been changed in the office.  She didn’t answer, so that night I called her, no answer and I did not leave a message, so the next morning, I sent her another text that said, “I need to speak to you, would you please call me?”  She called my supervisor and said that she felt like she was being harassed.  When I told my supervisor what had transpired, I told her that I hadn’t said anything out of line, and given the situation, I really wanted to.  My supervisor told me that some things are best left unsaid otherwise we will end up apologizing for something that we aren’t sorry for.  Seriously.
 
This new employee was scheduled to work tomorrow which is Easter Sunday.  We work in retail.  The store is open.  You were hired to work on Sunday’s and Wednesdays.  You did not ask off for this Sunday.  You don’t want to work because it is Easter Sunday (WAAAAHHHH!)  So she went to another supervisor (not her immediate supervisor, because that would have been me) and told her that she couldn’t work on Sunday, she could work on Monday (don’t need you on Monday, cupcake-you were hired to work on Sunday).  So the other supervisor, switched her shift.  That is when I sent her the text.  Nice line of communication.  And the bottom line is unless I want to change my schedule to accommodate an employee who I can tell already is going to suck,  my department will not have any coverage tomorrow. And of course giving an employee who is new positive reinforcement that this behavior is OK and perfectly acceptable.  In effect telling  someone who has been there and who has always been willing to go the extra mile, that she just needs to suck it up.  Now, the new employee said that she was never TOLD how to request off.  And why would you ask?  You just wait until the schedule is posted and then say-Oh , I can’t work then.  Mark my words, she is going to be a high maintenance pain in the ass and won’t be there by the end of summer.
 
This is just one instance.  We have a new supervisor (young) who has been there right at a month and has been late 13 times.  And so far this has been tolerated.   One of the cashiers cam in and told my supervisor that her Mom and Dad were REALLY mad that she was scheduled to work on Easter Sunday.   When asked if she had requested off, she said, “It just kinda snuck up on me….”   Again, you work RETAIL.  The store is OPEN.  Your Mom and Dad should be mad at YOU.  But are they? Hell No, why hold you responsible?  You can’t be responsible for yourself-you are only a 20 year old college student and you are their precious, baby.  GROW THE FUCK UP!  And of course if you don’t like the way your supervisor looked at you when she was asking if you requested off, just lodge a complaint.  Why should you have any personal accountability-so much easier to play the victim!
 
What is wrong with the world today?  I can guarantee neither of my kids would pull this shit, because they weren’t RAISED that way.  I would have kicked their butts from here to Sunday.  Going in every morning and waking up little precious past the age of 12 is RIDICULOUS!   They are responsible for themselves-give them a damn alarm clock and show them how to use it.  You are raising tomorrows future and from where I am sitting-you are doing a SHIT job!
 
About myway77

I am a 56 year old Mother of 2, Step-Mother of 3, Grandmother of 6. After 23 years of being a Cosmetologist/Nail Tech/Esthetician I recently started a whole new career with an Amazing company. This is the story of where and how I started and the long road to where I am. One thing has always remained a constant in my life-my 1st Cousin and Best Friend "Liza Jane" or Leisa Carroll-my #1 partner in crime !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

