Things that make me want to scream really loud at the top of my lungs…..

Once upon a time, in the not so distant past…..  No, really, back in about 1990 (Stephanie was in 6th or 7th grade I believe) Stephanie started “going out” (6th or 7th grade-remember) with a really cute young man named Cornelius Davis or Corny for short.  Corny was cute and very well dressed-he always wore slacks and argyle sweater vests and was well mannered and polite-he was also black.  When my parents found this out they hit the fucking roof. I was told to MAKE my daughter break up with him or I would be disowned.  Ok, go ahead.  I tried to explain that if you make a big deal out of this, it would just make it more attractive to a teenager.  If you leave it the fuck alone then it will be history in a week.  My dad came and took me for a ride in his truck to discuss this. Oh, sweet baby Jesus.  The dreaded ride in the truck.  Where I am a captive audience, and I am continually looking at his speedometer trying to gauge how bad I would hurt myself if I hurled myself from the moving vehicle to escape.  Apparently my mother was so upset that she couldn’t sleep over this and I was going to have to do something about it.  I refused.  I wanted to know exactly where do you draw the line with this shit?  Would you rather your granddaughter came home with a very nice, well dressed, polite young black man or a total all out uneducated piece of white trash?  You got it.  So I pushed a little further and apparently Mexican or American or Asian or Polynesian wouldn’t work either.  Oh…. MY….. GOD!  I can’t stand this.  So, I was dropped off at my car and was given the silent treatment for several weeks until my parents heard through the grapevine that that relationship was over.  But I have never forgot that experience.  So imagine my complete and total surprise when my Mother posts on facebook a meme that says, “Like if you raised your kids NOT to be racist”    Seriously?  I already have such an incredibly hard time trying to justify all the shit I went through growing up and I keep telling myself that I can’t hold it against my Mom for being weak and spineless and staying with my Dad who was so incredibly abusive to everyone who came in his path.  But this just REALLY pisses me off.  I want to hide all of her posts.  The stupid Republican crap she posts is bad enough and irritating especially when it is teemed with some inane “Christian” post.  I want to reply, “What the FUCK, Georgia?”  Delusional.  Very sad and bat-shit crazy.

About myway77

I am a 56 year old Mother of 2, Step-Mother of 3, Grandmother of 6. After 23 years of being a Cosmetologist/Nail Tech/Esthetician I recently started a whole new career with an Amazing company. This is the story of where and how I started and the long road to where I am. One thing has always remained a constant in my life-my 1st Cousin and Best Friend "Liza Jane" or Leisa Carroll-my #1 partner in crime !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

