How about a cup of hot tea and a half of a xanax?

This day has been in the making for several weeks.  Several weeks for me to get prepared.  Steph and Brad and the grandbabies are stopping on the way back from St. Louis.  It is Brad’s Grandma’s 100th birthday celebration, and they have been there since Friday.  And since they are going to be here, Clayton and Karla are coming up from Springfield to celebrate Christmas with everyone.  Do you hear the theme music from “Jaws” playing in your head?  I do. Since the weather is unseasonably nice for January, we are going to grill (that translates to Michael is going to grill).  I have baked beans in the oven.  At 9:04 am I received a text message from Clayton saying, “Getting ready to leave.  Going to swing by “the trailer” for lunch.  Hopefully that doesn’t take too long.  Planning on getting to your place between 2 and 3.  Do we need to bring anything?”  I replied, ” Nope, have fun, hope you are bringing a hazmat suit.”  The translation being “the trailer” is where their birth father lives.  I have long since tried to make any sense out of why in the fuck, they would waste their time staying in touch with a huge piece of SHIT like Steve Ballard.  But then I have to tell myself, that it is actually my fault that he is their father.  Still, you lie with dogs, you’re gonna get fleas…” Clayton’s text was followed by one from Stephanie, who was up all night vomiting.  Great.  So I have piddled away my morning planning a fall get away to Arizona to visit relatives I haven’t seen in 30+ years.  I just got a text from Steph.  They are starting to pack-it is 12:35 pm, so that should put them here about 3:00.  It is so nice to rate amongst (SIC) my children……It’s a damn good thing I gave up trying to hold any importance in their lives a long time ago.  Well, maybe not so long ago, but at least a couple of years ago.  Throw me a bone every now and then and they think they are doing great.  After all, the are adults….with their own lives and families. 

About myway77

I am a 56 year old Mother of 2, Step-Mother of 3, Grandmother of 6. After 23 years of being a Cosmetologist/Nail Tech/Esthetician I recently started a whole new career with an Amazing company. This is the story of where and how I started and the long road to where I am. One thing has always remained a constant in my life-my 1st Cousin and Best Friend "Liza Jane" or Leisa Carroll-my #1 partner in crime !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

